This is my goal…

“Husbands, love your wives, as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her.” Ephesians 5:25
_____
“Direct your children onto the right path, and when they are older, they will not leave it.” Proverbs 22:6
____
“Fathers, do not provoke your children to anger, but bring them up in the discipline and instruction of the Lord.” Ephesians 6:4
Hello everyone. First, I would like to thank you for taking the time to follow our family as we walk this journey and strive to “wholly” seek the path that Christ has paved out for us. We are so excited to let you take a sneak peak into what God is doing in this family. As you walk with us, we hope to give you insight into the Nunez/Hansen family from each one of our perspectives. Carla, V and myself, each play a very important role in this family. It is of utmost importance for all three of us to understand what that role is. Something I have quickly come to realize is that my role in this family is a pillar of strength that hold us up. If I slack, we all slack.
Image
My role, is a challenging one, but oh so rewarding. My devotion is to God first. I am to lead my household and to ensure that God is not left out of our daily decisions. We have all heard this over and over again. It is, however, one of the most difficult things to do. As we get on with our lives and start getting into a daily routine, it is extremely easy to choose events, hobbies, television, and even church activities over time spent with God. Something that we have started doing as a family is setting a day apart from the week and doing a devotional out of “The Purple Book” by Rice Broocks and Steve Murrell. I’ve done several studies from this book and although it’s very fundamental, I always learn something from it. We all have been learning from it. This is my goal: To lead my family as we dive into the Word together, grow together, and live out God’s purpose for us together.
Image
I have also learned that being the husband God has called me to be is not an easy task. It requires constant effort and thought. I know we all know this, but it cannot be said enough: men do not think like women. We are so different, and part of being newly married is learning how to bridge that natural communication gap between a man and a woman. The process of leaving my previous life and cleaving to my new life with my wife is by far the biggest challenge I have faced in my life. It is, however, the best thing that ever happened to me. Carla has helped shape me into a better and more mature man and I cannot imagine my life without her. I hope to live a life where loving her is just not enough. This is my goal: To lead my wife through words of affirmation rather than words of discouragement and demonstrating to her that I am more in love with her today than the day that I said “I do.”
Lastly, being a father is not easy.  It requires constant effort and thought. I’m speaking from “in-experience!” From making sure V takes the trash out when he is supposed to, to trying to guide his path in finding his purpose in this life, I have learned in a short amount of time that fathering is a 24/7 job. But something that has been evident lately, is that nothing is more important in the discipline of my child, than love. Discipline without love is worthless. My relationship with V was built through quality time spent. We spent time together every week for several months. It was that special time that brought me an my son together in the first place. Now, as we have settled into our comfortable lives together, I feel that I have been slowly dropping the ball on him and spending less quality time with him. Yesterday, I was reading “What Your Son Isn’t Telling You” by Michael Ross and Susie Shellenberger, and this truth slapped me in the face. In yesterday’s chapter, that author asked “When was the last time you and your son went out together?” It was then that I realized, V and I have not spent Father/Son time since we moved to Florida! This cannot and will not be the case anymore. This is my goal: To show my son that discipline is not just about rules and regulations, but that the root of discipline is love. I will show my son that he is loved by spending one on one time with him, showing him that he is well worth my time and attention.
We are Wholly Living.
Love,
Manny
2 thoughts on “This is my goal…

  1. Manny – You’re amazing. Not sure I can keep following the blog though…. I may run out of tears! You have grown into such an amazing man and fully worthy of the fabulous family God’s loaned you. Treat them, and yourself, with love everyday and you will be able to always look back on life with genuine pride.

  2. Hi Manny and Carla, I am so proud and so blessed to know that I have friends like you. I admire you so very much and miss even more, but I know that you both are following the Lord’s path. May the Lord continue to bless all three of you (Hi, V….) and guide you……Besitos y Abrazos….Linda Manary

Leave a Reply

